TTh Schedule

The readings and assignments given below should be completed by classtime on the day they are listed. BAC stands for the textbook, Business and Administrative Communication.

This schedule is subject to change, and last did so on 15 September 2019.

Tuesday, August 20

Classroom Topics

  • First day stuff

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • none

Thursday, August 22

Classroom Topics

  • Intro Unit 1

Readings

Assignments

  • none

Tuesday, August 27

Classroom Topics

  • Audience analysis

Readings

Assignments

  • Complete Problem 2.10. Bring a hard copy to class with you.

Thursday, August 29

Classroom Topics

  • Building goodwill
  • Positive messages

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 3

Assignments

  • Bring a hard copy of your Introductory Letter draft (part of the Unit 1 Project) with you to class for peer review.

Tuesday, September 3

NO CLASS: Labor Day Hangover

Thursday, September 5

Classroom Topics

  • Business documents formatting
  • Positive messages peer review

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 9
  • BAC, Appendix A

Assignments

  • Bring a hard copy of your Positive Message Memo draft (part of the Unit 1 Project) with you to class for peer review.

Tuesday, September 10

Classroom Topics

  • Negative messages

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 10

Assignments

  • Complete Problem 10.9 on pg. 315 of the textbook (If your last name starts with A–L, do scenario a, variation 1. Last name M–Z, do scenario b, variation 2). Bring your typed, printed work to class with you.

Thursday, September 12

Classroom Topics

  • Catch-up
  • Peer review

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Friday, September 13

Unit 1 Project: Business Correspondence Portfolio due

Tuesday, September 17

Classroom Topics

  • Intro Unit 2
  • Big List

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Thursday, September 19

Classroom Topics

  • Resume Content

Assignments

Tuesday, September 24

Classroom Topics

  • Cover Letter Content
  • Peer Review

Readings

Assignments

  • Resume Content due
  • Bring a hard copy of your resume content so far for peer review.

Thursday, September 26

Classroom Topics

  • Peer Review
  • Content Revisited

Assignments

Tuesday, October 1

Classroom Topics

  • Formatting

Readings

Assignments

  • none

Thursday, October 3

Classroom Topics

  • Formatting Revisited

Assignments

Tuesday, October 8

Classroom Topics

  • Peer Review
  • Interviews and Follow-up Communication

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 14

Assignments

  • Bring a hard copy of your resume and cover letter for peer review.

Thursday, October 10

Classroom Topics

  • Catch-up
  • Intro Unit 3

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Friday, October 11

Unit 2 Project: Job Application Portfolio due

  • If you are participating in a grading conference, you'll turn in the project when we meet in my office.
  • If you aren't participating in a grading conference, be sure to upload your Unit 2 Project: Job Application Portfolio to Canvas by 11:59pm tonight (details here).

Monday, October 14–Friday, October 18

NO CLASS: Fall Break

Tuesday, October 22

Classroom Topics

  • Website analysis

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 8

Assignments

Thursday, October 24

Classroom Topics

  • Team Meetings
  • Catch-up

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Tuesday, October 29

Classroom Topics

  • PowerPoint and Presentations

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 19

Assignments

  • none

Thursday, October 31

Classroom Topics

  • Presentations continued

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 16

Assignments

  • Be prepared to peer review your presentations. That means you should have a script and slides and a device you can show them on.

Tuesday, November 5

Classroom Topics

  • Team Presentations

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Thursday, November 7

Classroom Topics

  • Team Presentations, continued
  • Intro Unit 4

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 15

Assignments

  • none

Tuesday, November 12

NO CLASS: Veteran's Day Hangover

Thursday, November 14

Classroom Topics

  • Researching Proposals

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 17

Assignments

Tuesday, November 19

Classroom Topics

  • Writing Proposals

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 5

Assignments

  • none

Thursday, November 21

Classroom Topics

  • Peer Review

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Friday, November 22

Unit 4 Project: Proposal and Annotated Bibliography due

Tuesday, November 26

Classroom Topics

  • Writing Reports

Readings

  • BAC, Chapter 18

Assignments

Thursday, November 28

NO CLASS: Thanksgiving

Tuesday, December 3

Classroom Topics

  • Catch-up

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • none

Thursday, December 5

Classroom Topics

  • Catch-up
  • Peer Review

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Wednesday, December 11

Unit 5 Project: Analytical Business Report due

  • If you are participating in a grading conference, you'll officially turn in the project when we meet in my office. However, I also need you to upload it to Canvas (see next bullet).
  • If you aren't participating in a grading conference, be sure to upload your Unit 5 Project: Analytical Business Report to Canvas by 11:59pm tonight (details here).
  • Your Unit 5 Reflection is also due on Canvas.