Schedule

The course is divided into three units, each corresponding to a major paper which will be due near the end of the unit. The readings and assignments given below should be completed by classtime on the day they are listed.

This schedule is subject to change, and last did so on 7 May 2019.

Pre-Unit: Setting the Stage

Before we get into the three units associated with your three major papers, we will spend a couple of weeks clearing away the myths about writing classes and grading in order to give ourselves a solid, common foundation upon which to learn. We'll also discuss the concept of critical thinking and review and enhance your reading skills since these form the basis of effective critical thinking and writing.

Monday, April 22

Classroom Topics

  • Introductions

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • none

Wednesday, April 24

Classroom Topics

  • The Potluck Model of Education
  • The Academic Toolbox
  • Semester Projects

Assignments

Friday, April 26

Classroom Topics

  • Critical Thinking
  • Our Hypotheses: The Golden and Silver Rules

Assignments

Monday, April 29

Classroom Topics

  • Reading Skills
  • PTIC

Readings

Assignments

Wednesday, May 1

Classroom Topics

  • Mapping the Argument Structure

Readings

Assignments

Friday, May 3

Classroom Topics

  • Argument Structure Revisited
  • Summarizing is for Pirates

Readings

Assignments

Unit 1: Analysis

The major paper for this unit is the Argument Analysis.

Monday, May 6

Classroom Topics

  • Introduce Argument Analysis

Assignments

Office Hours: Tuesday, May 7, 9–10am

Wednesday, May 8

Classroom Topics

  • Analyzing Audience

Readings

Assignments

  • Formal Summary Revision due
  • Choose one of the articles listed in the Argument Analysis assignment description to be the subject of your own analysis. Then read it carefully so you'll be prepared for our upcoming lessons. Be sure to use your new reading skills—this time, it counts!
  • There are Slack channels devoted to each of the articles. Consider joining the one for your article so you can work with other students analyzing the same essay (to join channels, click the word "Channels" or the + next to it on your Slack interface).

Office Hours: Thursday, May 9, 9–10am

Friday, May 10

Classroom Topics

  • Analyzing Ethos
  • Analyzing Pathos

Readings

Assignments

Monday, May 13

NO CLASS: Catch Up!

Nothing is due today, but please realize that, at this point, you can have written the first four sections of your Argument Analysis: Summary, Audience, Ethos, and Pathos. Every hour you spend writing the paper now is an hour you won't have to spend later, an hour that won't add to your stress, an hour you can be proud of. And every time you get stuck and bring questions to the next class for clarification, you're helping your peers who haven't yet gotten stuck at those points.

Wednesday, May 15

Classroom Topics

  • Analyzing Key Terms

Readings

  • Asking the Right Questions: Chapter 4

Assignments

Office Hours: Thursday, May 16, 9–10am

Friday, May 17

Classroom Topics

  • Analyzing Value Assumptions

Readings

Assignments

  • none

Monday, May 20

Classroom Topics

  • Analyzing Evidence

Readings

  • Asking the Right Questions: Chapters 7 and 8

Assignments

Office Hours: Tuesday, May 21, 8:15–9:30am

Wednesday, May 22

Classroom Topics

  • Analyzing Logic
  • Writing a Final Assessment

Readings

  • Asking the Right Questions: Chapters 6 and 9
  • Asking the Right Questions: Chapter 13

Assignments

Office Hours: Thursday, May 23, 9–10am

Friday, May 24

Classroom Topics

  • What is Good Writing?
  • Peer Review

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • In class we will complete the Argument Analysis Peer Review assignment. In order to participate and get credit, you must have a hard copy of a near-complete draft of the paper in hand with you when class begins.
  • Sign up for an Argument Analysis Grading Conference (optional). This sign-up sheet is not yet live. I will announce on Slack when it is.

Unit 2: Synthesis

The major paper for this unit is the Current Event Coverage Report.

Monday, May 27

NO CLASS: Memorial Day

Office Hours: Tuesday, May 28, 9–10am

Wednesday, May 29

Classroom Topics

  • Introduce Unit 2: Synthesis

Assignments

Friday, May 31

NO CLASS: Grading Conferences

Class is cancelled so that we can do Argument Analysis Grading Conferences. If you've signed up for a conference, you will turn in your Argument Analysis at your conference time.

If you choose not to do a grading conference, your Argument Analysis should be uploaded to your Dropbox folder by 9:00pm today.

Your Argument Analysis Reflection is also due to Dropbox by 9:00pm.

In place of class this, please complete the following things:

Monday, June 3

NO CLASS

In place of class, please continue to work on the Jump Into Public Discourse assignment.

Office Hours: Tuesday, June 4, 9–10am

Wednesday, June 5

Office Hours: Thursday, June 6, 9–10am

Friday, June 7

Classroom Topics

  • Personal Bias
  • The "Groverton" Window

Assignments

Monday, June 10

Classroom Topics

  • Documentation

Assignments

Office Hours: Tuesday, June 11, 9–10am

Wednesday, June 12

Classroom Topics

  • Preparing to Synthesize:
    • Sorting Sources by Type
    • Keeping the Destination in Mind
    • Reading and Annotating Strategies

Assignments

Office Hours: Thursday, June 13, 9–10am

Friday, June 14

Classroom Topics

  • Provenance
  • Bias

Assignments

  • none

Monday, June 17

Classroom Topics

  • Analyzing Fact-Based Journalism

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Office Hours: Tuesday, June 18, 9–10am

Wednesday, June 19

Classroom Topics

  • Analyzing Interpretive Journalism

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Office Hours: Thursday, June 20, 9–10am

Friday, June 21

Classroom Topics

  • Coverage Report Bibliography Peer Assessment

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • In class we will complete the Coverage Report Bibliography Peer Assessment assignment. In order to participate and get credit, you must have a hard copy of a portion of your annotated bibliography (5 citations with annotations) in hand with you when class begins.
  • Bring your style guide (MLA, APA, etc.) to class with you.

Monday, June 24

Classroom Topics

  • Synthesizing
  • Source Integration

Assignments

Office Hours: Tuesday, June 25, 9–10am

Wednesday, June 26

Classroom Topics

  • Sources-First versus Facts-First Synthesizing
  • Top-down Bias
  • Strategies for Engaging with the Public Discourse

Assignments

  • none

Friday, June 28

NO CLASS: Grading Conferences

Class is cancelled so that we can do Coverage Report Grading Conferences. If you've signed up for a conference, you will turn in your Coverage Report at your conference time.

If you choose not to do a grading conference, your Coverage Report should be uploaded to your Dropbox folder by 9:00pm today.

Your Coverage Report Reflection is also due to Dropbox by 9:00pm.

Unit 3: Argument

The major paper for this unit is the Researched Argument.

Monday, July 1

Classroom Topics

  • Revisiting Our Hypotheses
  • Planning Your Time Wisely
  • What is Good Writing?

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • none

Office Hours: Tuesday, July 2, 9–10am

Wednesday, July 3

Classroom Topics

  • Introduction to Researched Arguments
  • Problems and Solutions

Assignments

  • none

Friday, July 5

NO CLASS: Independence Day Hangover

In place of class, please complete the following things:

  • Begin work on your Researched Argument by choosing a local problem and learning everything you can about it. Keep an eye on the Problem Poster assignment, due very soon.

Monday, July 8

Classroom Topics

  • Using Evidence of All Types

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • none

Office Hours: Tuesday, July 9, 9–10am

Wednesday, July 10

Classroom Topics

  • Problem Poster Presentations

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Office Hours: Thursday, July 11, 9–10am

Friday, July 12

Classroom Topics

  • Big-Picture Paper Organization and the Silver Rule
  • Argument Structure Maps, For Real This Time

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • none

Monday, July 15

Classroom Topics

  • Little-Picture Organization and Source Integration

Readings

  • none

Assignments

Office Hours: Tuesday, July 16, 9–10am

Wednesday, July 17

Classroom Topics

  • Documentation Draft and Peer Review
  • What is Good Writing?

Readings

  • none

Assignments

  • In class we will complete the Researched Argument Documentation Draft assignment as well as a general peer review. In order to participate and get credit for both assignments, you must have a hard copy of a complete draft of the paper in hand with you when class begins.
  • Bring your style guide (MLA, APA, etc.) to class with you.
  • Sign up for a Researched Argument Grading Conference (optional). This sign-up sheet is not yet live. I will announce on Slack when it is.

Office Hours: Thursday, July 18, 9–10am

Friday, July 19

Semester Project Fair and End-of-Semester Celebration

Meet in Rigby Hall Lobby

Tuesday, July 23

End of Semester!

  • If you signed up for a Researched Argument Grading Conference, you will turn in your Researched Argument at your conference time.
  • If you choose not to do a grading conference, your Researched Argument is due to your Submitted folder on Dropbox by 9:00pm
  • Your Post-Semester Reflection is also due to Dropbox by 9:00pm.
  • If you haven't already done them, Writing Manual Reports 1, 2, and 3 are also due to Dropbox by 9:00pm.
  • Also, this is the last day to turn in major paper revisions or late work; please have them in by 9:00pm.